Pebbles nursery & pre-school operates from Nunroyd House within Nunroyd Park in Yeadon. We feel very privileged to have acquired such a beautiful historical building with great character and fascinating features. Not only is the building a perfect home for Pebbles nursery, it is also set in idyllic surroundings.
Nunroyd acquired its name after the Warde family and Alan de Yeadon had given some of their land in Guiseley and Yeadon respectively, to the Cistercian sisters at Esholt. The nuns did not work the land themselves but leased it to tenants for rent. In 1406 Adam de Carlton negotiated a 10- year lease, paying an annual rent of 3/4d. He was at the time a Yeadoner, living in the priory manor. By the time of the dissolution of the monasteries, the Guiseley acres had been converted to pasture. Thomas Hardwick, a yeoman from the village of Woodhouse near Leeds, was the tenant.
Nunroyd House was built in the nineteenth century for Jonathan Peate, JP (1837 – 1924) who was an important Philanthropist and owner of Nunroyd Mills (built 1868 , demolished 1987). He lived at Nunroyd House for many years and was buried in Yeadon Cemetery. He donated land & money for the benefit of the people of Yeadon & Guiseley including Yeadon Town Hall Square; also Kirk Lane Park (1907), and Nethermoor Park. He was also Chairman of Wharfedale Board of Guardians for 25 years.